Sunday, Sunday, Sunday!….SUPERBOWL Sunday!

You guessed it, today is Super Bowl Sunday. The 50th Superbowl. The midlife crisis of Superbowls. What a great time for the hometown (home state?) team to be a part of such a true American Experience. I am proud of the Panthers and the commitment they have to our community. It may be because I have never really followed NFL teams, but I have never heard of such a thing. It makes my heart smile. And can I just say this before moving on? The Panthers have some kind of chemistry and family like bond that winners are made of. Win or lose, it is indisputable that they have heart. With that said, #GOPANTHERS #KEEPPOUNDING #SUPERBOWL50

Well, I’m just going to go ahead and warn you that my previous statements are likely the most interesting thing I have to say today…and most days…which is pretty sad if you think about it. Yesterday was another lazy day. Anxiety was still high and motivation was a big fat ZERO. Zilch. Nada. Between my couple short naps there was a spike in social media activity. Come to think about it that really isn’t that unusual but I’m pretty sure the internet company was on high alert. “Hey Bob, look at this…robots? Aliens? radical terrorist activity? grumpy unicorns? did Bentley take over the Ipad today? Nope John Boy, that’s just Kim. It must be ‘one of those days'” Yep, I’m sure that’s exactly how that conversation went…exactly. I was having some major ADD moments allllll day long. I will spare most of the details but I will point out that I left the kitchen table while eating to turn off an alarm on my phone and got distracted. Thus, I forgot to go back to the kitchen. ME! Forgot to go back to the room that holds all the food!! If that doesn’t give you a glimpse into my day…I really don’t think you know or get me…at all.

Random turn of events:

I follow The Blogess and if you don’t, you should. I want to be her when I grow up. Mostly because I’m a lot like her already and it wouldn’t be too much of a stretch to be bold and share more ridiculous life moments like she does. She doesn’t mind waving her “crazy flag.” Which, BTW, I am totally allowed to say sometimes because I earned that title damn it. But, if I really think about it in deep thought I also think that’s pretty wrong because I don’t like it when other people use it so it’s reminds me of that awful “N” word. I personally don’t like when anyone uses it so really I’m being hypocritical. But, I digress. I have this super sweet friend (who I will not name without asking if I can use her name on here…I’m kind like that :P) that thought about me when she read what The Bloggess AKA Jenny Lawson’s book Furiously Happy was all about. She read me the inside cover thing-a-majigger…. I’m sure it has a real name…and I laughed so hard that I went home and immediately downloaded it and started reading it that night. It is honestly the BEST book I’ve ever read. Disclaimer: I don’t read THAT much…or even a little much…ok, I barely read. Unless it has to do with the Mob…odd, I know. I will be expecting a visit from the FBI after this blog post. HOWEVER, I digress…again. The point is that Furiously happy is a hilarious take on the serious subject of mental illness. Now that’s right up my alley. Even if you don’t have or know anyone that has a mental illness (which I’m 100% sure you are in denial if you think you don’t know someone that has it…some people just aren’t as open) just read it. I’m not explaining any more why you should because I’m really starting to lose my train of thought so for the love of God just go read it!

Ummmm, I should mention that the whole point of the previous paragraph (if it can even be called a legitimate paragraph…it all get’s typed as it comes into my head… SCARY!!) was to tell you about this awesome challenge/idea The Bloggess posted on her blog a few days ago. She called it Booksgiving. There are so many people out there that struggle daily to make ends meet. It makes it hard for people to get the help they need much less the books that can be helpful in getting through the tough times. This includes books that can help you understand and get some ideas on how to handle each day with your illness. Speaking from experience, it is a struggle even when you have the resources. I love more than anything to give little gifts, hugs, an shoulder to cry on, and ear to listen and anything else I am capable of to make each and every person feel special. Because we all are. Most people would say that means I have a big heart… I say that making others happy is the best therapy I could ever imagine so I do it just as much for myself than I do others. I don’t believe in doing something and expecting anything in return, but I am a strong believer in paying it forward. That is the premise of Booksgiving. If you are struggling (not just financially), she asked that you make a wishlist on amazon for a book or books and make it public so other followers of hers can help out and purchase a book for you to get sent directly to you while asking nothing in return. I cried when I read what a wonderful idea that is!! I am not to proud to say it has been a struggle being out of work and I fought with myself for days because I thought there were surly people out there that could use a book more than I could….and I know there are. But, I gave in. I want to read “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” which was Jenny’s first book so I made an account with that book not expecting anything. Within hours, I got a message that a kind woman was sending me the book. Hundreds and hundreds of books were purchased and sent out. I can’t wait to read my book but more than anything I CAN NOT wait to pay it forward!!! I have trouble taking/asking for help and always have no matter what the situation is in life. Call it pride if you want….I call it independence. I challange you to consider participating in Booksgiving or whatever floats your boat to just #PayItForward!!

Love, hugs, kisses, and bright pink glitter for now,

Kimmy G 🙂

P.S. Again, I refuse to re-read this so it comes with a guarantee of grammar and spelling mistakes. Not to mention I was ALL over the pace…which is another reason I will not re-read it. My brain hurts.  You’re welcome.

2 thoughts on “Sunday, Sunday, Sunday!….SUPERBOWL Sunday!

Leave a Reply

