The Angel Known as Joey

I’ve been out of my blogging for a week or so now due to this nasty tummy bug and the ongoing issue with my ear. Seriously, if anyone has ANY ideas of what to do to help the pain even if it for a short period or would like to take me up on the offer to cut it off, just let me know. I honestly just either haven’t felt like writing those days or didn’t have anything I really wanted to share. Especially if it was possible to share the stomach bug through the computer (I know it’s not people, I’m not that out of it from the meds!)…If you haven’t had it then I am certainly envious and if you have, bless your heart. I appreciate those who have sent prayers and concern but today’s post is about anything BUT complaints.

I’m sitting here thinking how I am actually going to convey the thoughts in my head to writing so please hang in there with me.

All day, everyday tragedy strikes an unfathomable amount of people in this world. I could sit here and list everything I can think of but it won’t even make a dent in the reality of things. One thing that I believe we are all open and honest about and can all agree to hate is what some can only bring themselves to refer to as the “C” word…Cancer. It has no prejudices and strikes people of all ages, genders, races, social classes, etc. I don’t think it would be a stretch to say that everyone has been effected by it in some way, shape, or form. We hear a lot about breast cancer but as we know this is only one for on many kinds on cancers that can take the lives of those we love and cherish. Kids, parents, other family members, friends…it touches us at some point and leaves that never ending mark on our hearts. Through modern medicine I believe scientists have made great strides in a positive direction to fight this disease. Will it ever be something of the past? I don’t know. Will there ever be a vaccine that we get as children to prevent such a powerful and unwelcome disease? I am not one to say. I can hope and pray, we all can, but for now we have to rely on what we have at this moment in time.

With that said, I have been thinking over the past couple of months why so many of us have come to care so deeply about the story of Joey Feek and rally around her and her family when so many others out there are fighting a similar battle. A quick background for those of you who may not know, (which isn’t most people unless you have been living under a rock for the past year) Joey and her husband, Rory, are (it is going to be hard to use past tense so hang in there with me as I know my grammar will be terrible and teeter totter back and forth) a country and bluegrass music duo that gained fame and won over many hearts by appearing on the television show “Can you Duet.” Without doing much research (as that isn’t the point of my post) I know that Joey was diagnosed with cervical cancer in 2014 and has been fighting her battle since then. Back some months ago she decided to forgo any further treatments and spend her final days with her family and friends taking God’s will in stride. This is why I believe we fell in love with Joey.

I know that not everyone is spiritual and those who are have their own beliefs. I am a Christian and I believe in God and that Jesus died for our sins, so this is my take and my opinion. (I truly hope not to offend anyone in the process)

Why have we not followed other celebrities battles so closely is the question I have been asking myself. To me it is simple and clear, Joey is the prime example of what we want to be as Christians. (or any person of faith) She has shared her story with her head held high and has never waivered in her faith. Joey left everything in the hands of God without reservation. She was smiling in every picture her husband shared up until the days before her death when she was physically unable to do so. We have all prayed, sent good vibes, thought about, or whatever your choice was… and in the end we have come to follow her battle with her as if she were family or a friend we had just never met in person. Through her husband, Rory’s, blog I learned that she made peace with her fate long before it became a reality. I am not sure, even as a Christian, that I would be at peace when the time comes to be called home for eternity and leaving this earthly world. She stated that if she could bring one person closer to God then it was worth it. I read today that she did…her own Father. He has now accepted Jesus Christ as his savior. What a loving and selfless legacy to leave behind. To me, her willingness in giving it all to God has opened our hearts whether we know it or not…and I believe he used Joey Feek as a vessel to do so. We were drawn to Joey and her story through the Grace of God. We were blessed with the open hearts to follow her story and although the ending was nothing less than tragic in our minds, I feel comforted in knowing that the ultimate plan HE has not only involved her but the rest of us as well. I know it has once again giving me that boost of faith that God knows what he is doing and is with me every step of the way. In her battle with cancer and looming death, as sad and heartbreaking as I have found it, I can also now say it has become a blessing. As I have already mentioned, it is my opinion that Joey was a vessel that God used to open our eyes and hearts to let him guide us.

I am not perfect not will I ever be or claim to be. You are not perfect either. There is nobody on this planet that is. We can only live life to the fullest with what we are given, work past the obstacles, and faithfully follow the plan that God puts in out hearts. There is no doubt in my mind that Joey was an excellent example of this life plan and I, for one, am glad that we got to share in the journey of hers. This, in my humble opinion, is why Joey won our hearts…because God placed her there.

Let’s all send prayers and good vibes to her family is this time of mourning.

Love, hugs, and kisses,

Kimmy G 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

